La buena gente

Well, I haven’t posted in awhile because I haven’t really had any life-altering experiences. Today, however, was a very heartwarming day at work. In one of my classes at Sika, my students Alberto and Diana told me that I was a really, really good person. In Spanish, we say eres buena gente. It made me feel so incredibly appreciated and respected, especially coming from two brilliant engineers who both have long lists of achievements. They also told me that I am one of their two favorite English teachers they’ve had, wow! I responded by finally telling them that I had never taught before this, much to their surprise. Dang, if I’m one of the best, I really wonder what the others were like. They did mention that part of the reason is that we’ve worked a lot on improving their pronunciation and ability to produce sounds that don’t exist in Spanish. For me, I know that I have trouble with a lot of Spanish sounds that don’t exist in English. So, while I may not look like a gringa, after I speak, people always know. I’m working on that. Anyways, I guess what I’m getting at is that today was a great day, and who doesn’t love those?! Also, you’ll never know when someone is going to surprise you and melt your heart just a little bit 🙂

Image

One thought on “La buena gente

Leave a Reply

